Criminal Defense Information in Chandler

DUI Defense in Arizona

What behavior do police officers look for to spot a drunk driver?

The National Highway Traffic Administration advises there are a several clues that signal a drunk driver to an Arizona police officer, including:

  • Inability to maintain proper lane position, resulting in weaving, drifting, swerving, a wide radius on turns.
  • Lack of consistent speed and improper braking such as stopping short, abrupt stops, rapid acceleration or deceleration without reason and driving too slow.
  • Inattentiveness difficulties such as improper signaling, driving into oncoming traffic or cross traffic.
  • Misevaluation of conditions resulting in mistakes, such as turning illegally.

If I am pulled over for DUI, what should I tell the officer?

You should provide the officer with your license, registration, and proof of insurance. Then, you should inform the officer you wish to speak with an attorney. You should not make any admission, apologize, or give any explanation or statement whatsoever. No matter how many questions a police officer asks, or how much pressure you receive, you should not answer.

Do I have to answer the officer’s questions?

No, you have your Fifth Amendment right to remain silent.

Is taking a field sobriety test mandatory?

Under Arizona DUI law, you are not required to take the field sobriety tests. Refusal to take the tests cannot be used against you in court.

Is a chemical test required in Arizona?

In Arizona, you will lose your driving privileges if you do not take a blood, breath or urine test when requested by a police officer even if you win your DUI case. In most circumstances, it is advisable to consent to a chemical test.

What are the penalties for a DUI drunk driving conviction?

Penalties for DUI conviction are severe, and include jail time, probation, license suspension, ignition interlock, alcohol and drug counseling, and impoundment of your vehicle. In the case of multiple DUI or DUI with injury or death, penalties can include prison.

What are the defenses to a DUI charge?

Challenging the initial stop for arrest, the evidence, the field sobriety tests and chemical tests are among the numerous defenses to DUI charges. In a felony DUI cases, our team will challenge the admission of prior convictions, and license suspensions.

Will my car have to stay in impound a full 30 days?

There is a procedure in Arizona by which you may apply for a hearing for early release of your vehicle.

Can I avoid a suspended license after getting charged with a DUI?

You have 15 days in which to request a hearing at which to plead for waiver of license suspension. Our firm will help you to do so, but you must act quickly.

To retain competent, experienced and aggressive criminal defense professionals for your case, contact a Chandler criminal defense lawyer from our firm today to discuss your case.